ABOUT

Welcome to
Massachusetts Horticultural Society

Massachusetts Horticultural Society seeks to help people change their lives and communities for the better through growing plants together. MHS disseminates information on horticulture and related sciences through its Library, educational programming, exhibitions and community outreach initiatives. Through these, MHS seeks to engage guests with the importance of plants, gardens and natural landscapes in their lives and help them to become active growers and gardeners themselves. As America’s first established horticultural society, MHS has been practicing horticulture ‘for the public good’ since 1829.

mhs seal SM

Mission

Massachusetts Horticultural Society seeks to help people change their lives and communities for the better through growing plants together. For 192 years, Massachusetts Horticultural Society has had a mission to promote the art and science of horticulture, while staying true to its founding motto, ‘Commune Bonum,’ for the public good.


Contact Us

Address

Massachusetts Horticultural Society
The Garden at Elm Bank
900 Washington Street
Wellesley, MA 02482

Phone

Main Phone: 617-933-4900
Fax: 617-933-4901
TTY: 781-235-5655

Office Hours

9 a.m. – 5 p.m.
Monday through Friday



Staff

President and Executive Director
James Hearsum

Controller
Jennifer Jones
617-933-4981
jjones@masshort.org

Staff Accountant
Miriam Miranda
mmiranda@masshort.org

Director of Development
Elaine Lawrence
617-933-4945
elawrence@masshort.org

Membership Associate
Zee Camp
617-933-4963
membership@masshort.org

Marketing Specialist
Meghan Connolly
617-933-4934
mconnolly@masshort.org

Library & Archives
Maureen O’Brien
617-933-4912
library@masshort.org

Director of Garden and Programs 
Karen Daubmann
kdaubmann@masshort.org

Director of Guest Experience and Education, Volunteers
Allison Dush
617-933-4973
adush@masshort.org

Garden Educator
Melissa Pace
mpace@masshort.org

Garden Educator
Carrie Finkelstein
cfinkelstein@masshort.org

Director of Events
Kayleigh Tosches
617-933-4921
ktosches@masshort.org

Events Department Associate
Lindsay Dias
617-933-4982
ldias@masshort.org


Governance

Board of Trustees

Fiscal Year 2023

Finley H. Perry, Chair of the Board
Retired, Founder & Owner F.H. Perry Builder

James Hearsum, President and Executive Director

Gretel Anspach
Retired, Engineer 

Dan Daly
Daniel Roberts Company

Craig Klein, Treasurer
CPA, CBIZ

Graham Luce
Senior VP, General Counsel, BJ’s Wholesale Club

Lynne MacDowell
Owner, Stonegate Gardens

Suzanne B. McCance

William C McConnell IV (Chip) Senior VP Wealth Management Advisor, The McConnell Group

Dr. Barbara Millen
Professor, Department of Family Medicine, Boston University School of Medicine

Susan S. Mooney
Managing Director, Prio Wealth

Thaddeus Thompson
Executive Director, Berkshire Botanical Garden

Darrol G. Roberts
Co-Founder, CEO, Hessian Labs, Inc.

George Schnee
Schnee Architects, Inc.

Carol Spinelli

Helen R. Strieder
New England Baptist Hospital

Carrie Waterman
Volunteer

Terry Windhorst


Friends Council (formerly Overseers)

Fiscal Year 2023

David Barnett

Stephanie Chlan

Abby Coffin

Chris Duminuco

Beth Gray-Nix

Richard Hohmann

Maureen Horn

Frank Hunnewell

Penni Jenkins

Heidi Kost-Gross

Annette Lee

Jeanne Leszczynski

Betsy Ridge-Madsen

Suzanne Mahler

Robert Marzilli

Marisa McCoy

Julia O’Brien

Melanie Perillo

Holly Perry

Art Scarpa

Connie Smith

Robert (Bob) Smith

Karin Stanley

Paul Steen

Suzanne Thatcher

Eliot Wadsworth

Caroline Whitney

mhs seal

SINCE
1829.

Massachusetts Horticultural Society is dedicated to encouraging the science and practice of horticulture and to developing the public’s enjoyment, appreciation, and understanding of plants and the environment.

Sign Up For Our Newsletter

Vector (17)