Sunday, 22 April 2018      Home | Membership

Vinaora Nivo SliderVinaora Nivo SliderVinaora Nivo SliderVinaora Nivo SliderVinaora Nivo SliderVinaora Nivo SliderVinaora Nivo SliderVinaora Nivo SliderVinaora Nivo SliderVinaora Nivo Slider
Garden Inspired Floral Design
Wednesday 18 October 2017, 07:00am - 09:00pm

When: Wednesday, October 18, 2017 from 7:00 PM to 9:00 PM

Where: The Gardens at Elm Bank - Putnam Building

Have fun learning the basics of floral design while creating a seasonal centerpiece highlighting the best of our fall gardens! You will create with a garden-inspired aesthetic reminiscent of the breathtaking still life paintings of the Dutch Masters. This hands-on workshop will lead you from design mechanics to completed design. All participants will make their own arrangement to take home. Perfect for DIY wedding parties, gardeners looking to capture the beauty of their garden’s bounty, and others wishing to learn the fundamentals of flower arranging. No prior design experience required. Flower farmer and floral designer Evelyn Lee will get you started.  Please bring hand pruners or snips if you have a pair, and please bring a box and newspaper for transport of your design home.

Evelyn Lee, flower farmer and floral designer at her specialty cut flower farm - Butternut Gardens in Southport, Connecticut – is a CT NOFA Accredited Organic Land Care Professional. Her farm is a certified Bee Friendly Farm. Evelyn grows just shy of 45,000 flowers a year for wholesale, retail, weddings and events. She received a Certificate in Gardening from New York Botanical Garden, was trained as a Master Gardener in Connecticut, and earned a Masters in Environmental Studies from Yale School of Forestry and Environmental Studies. Evelyn combines her lifelong love of gardening and growing flowers with an environmentally sensitive approach to achieve beautiful natural-looking garden-inspired floral designs. Learn more at www.butternutgardens.com

 

Members: $65
General Admission: $90

sign up button

 

About the Massachusetts Horticultural Society

Mass Hort logo newFounded in 1829, the Massachusetts Horticultural Society is dedicated to encouraging the science and practice of horticulture and developing the public's enjoyment, appreciation, and understanding of plants and the environment.

2018 Calendar & Courses

2018 Masshort Courses

Mass Hort Shop

Milkweed small
Botanical Prints
Now on Sale
The Perfect Gift
Visit the Store

Mass Hort Classes & Events

Tue Apr 24 @ 9:00AM - 12:00PM
Improve Your Watercolor Skills - Morning Course
Tue Apr 24 @12:30PM - 03:30PM
Improve Your Watercolor Skills - Afternoon Course
Thu Apr 26 @ 7:00PM - 08:30PM
Landscaping and Planting Design
Thu May 03 @ 7:00PM - 08:30PM
Foodscaping
Sun May 06 @10:30AM - 12:00PM
Early Season Gardening Workshop
Thu May 17 @ 7:00PM - 08:30PM
Greenhouse Growing
Tue May 22 @ 1:00PM - 05:00PM
Landscaping for Watershed Health
Wed May 30 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Spring Landscape Tour
Wed Jun 06 @ 7:00PM - 09:00PM
Hands-On Floral Design
Thu Jun 07 @ 7:00PM - 08:30PM
Bio-control of Lily Leaf Beetles
Tue Jun 12 @ 1:00PM - 04:30PM
Eco Printing: Fiber art workshop
Tue Jun 26 @10:30AM - 12:00PM
Explore the Teaching Herb Garden
Wed Jul 11 @10:00AM - 02:00PM
The Art of Planting Design
Wed Jul 18 @ 7:00PM - 08:30PM
Summer Stroll: Garden tour
Sun Jul 22 @10:30AM - 12:00PM
What's Buggin' Me?
Sat Aug 04 @10:30AM - 12:00PM
Fall Planting Workshop
Thu Aug 09 @ 7:00PM - 08:30PM
A Summer Stroll: Garden Tour
Sun Aug 12 @10:00AM - 04:00PM
Meditations in Ink with Bruce Iverson