Monday, 19 March 2018      Home | Membership

Vinaora Nivo SliderVinaora Nivo SliderVinaora Nivo SliderVinaora Nivo SliderVinaora Nivo SliderVinaora Nivo SliderVinaora Nivo SliderVinaora Nivo SliderVinaora Nivo SliderVinaora Nivo Slider
Share the Love: Dividing Perennials Workshop
Sunday 21 May 2017, 10:30am - 12:00pm

Where: The Gardens at Elm Bank - Putnam Building

Making room in your garden for your favorite perennials to thrive always leaves you with something to share with friends or start a new garden elsewhere. Learn the indicators for perennial plant division: which plants require regular separation, and the best times to split and transplant in an indoor presentation. Then, get your hands dirty in this hands-on workshop, led by Garden Educator, Suzanne Mahler. We will explore the ins and outs of dividing up and rejuvenating older perennial plants such as hosta and daylily. Take a little love, and a couple of new plants, home with you from Mass Hort!

Suzanne Mahler is an avid gardener, photographer and lecturer who has been developing her own property in Hanover, MA, for more than 30 years. Her weekly gardening column, Green Thumbs Up, has appeared in GateHouse Media New England newspapers for more than a decade. She is a member of two garden clubs, past president of the New England Daylily Society, and an overseer for Massachusetts Horticultural Society.

Members: $15 General Admission: $25

sign up button

About the Massachusetts Horticultural Society

Mass Hort logo newFounded in 1829, the Massachusetts Horticultural Society is dedicated to encouraging the science and practice of horticulture and developing the public's enjoyment, appreciation, and understanding of plants and the environment.

Make a Donation

2017-2018 Calendar & Courses

2017-2018 Calendar and Courses

Mass Hort Shop

Milkweed small
Botanical Prints
Now on Sale
The Perfect Gift
Visit the Store

Join Mass Hort Today!

Like us on Facebook!

Certified Wildlife Habitat®

certified habitat

Latest Mass Hort Videos

Gate to Fountain Tour the Manor House
Click to view video

Crush Wine FestCrush Wine Fest Recap
Click to view video

Fountain VideoTour the Elm Bank Event Venue
Click to view video

Amazon Smile

You Shop - Amazon gives to Massachusetts Horticultural Society!

Amazon will donate 0.5% of the price of your eligible AmazonSmile purchases to Massachusetts Horticultural Society whenever you shop on AmazonSmile.

AmazonSmile is the same Amazon you know. Same products, same prices, same service.

Read the Latest Leaflet

Mass Hort Classes & Events

Thu Mar 22 @ 7:00PM - 08:30PM
Rev Up for Spring: Seed Sowing, Growing and More!
Thu Mar 29 @ 7:00PM - 08:30PM
Vegetable Gardening: Planning, Preparing and Maintaining Your Victory Garden
Tue Apr 03 @ 9:00AM - 12:00PM
Improve Your Watercolor Skills - Morning Course
Tue Apr 03 @12:30PM - 03:30PM
Improve Your Watercolor Skills - Afternoon Course
Thu Apr 05 @ 7:00PM - 08:30PM
Landscaping and Planting Design
Thu Apr 05 @ 7:00PM - 08:30PM
Tips for a Great Jump Start on Your Lawn
Sat Apr 21 @10:00AM - 02:00PM
Grafting Fruit Trees
Thu May 03 @ 7:00PM - 08:30PM
Sun May 06 @10:30AM - 12:00PM
Early Season Gardening Workshop
Thu May 17 @ 7:00PM - 08:30PM
Greenhouse Growing
Tue May 22 @ 1:00PM - 05:00PM
Landscaping for Watershed Health
Wed May 30 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Spring Landscape Tour
Wed Jun 06 @ 7:00PM - 09:00PM
Hands-On Floral Design
Thu Jun 07 @ 7:00PM - 08:30PM
Bio-control of Lily Leaf Beetles
Tue Jun 12 @ 1:00PM - 04:30PM
Eco Printing: Fiber art workshop
Tue Jun 26 @10:30AM - 12:00PM
Explore the Teaching Herb Garden
Wed Jul 11 @10:00AM - 02:00PM
The Art of Planting Design
Wed Jul 18 @ 7:00PM - 08:30PM
Summer Stroll: Garden tour
Sun Jul 22 @10:30AM - 12:00PM
What's Buggin' Me?
Sat Aug 04 @10:30AM - 12:00PM
Fall Planting Workshop
Thu Aug 09 @ 7:00PM - 08:30PM
A Summer Stroll: Garden Tour
Sun Aug 12 @10:00AM - 04:00PM
Meditations in Ink with Bruce Iverson

Friends of Mass Hort Events

Thu Mar 29 @ 2:00PM - 03:00PM
2018 Gardening Webinars by Kerry Ann Mendez
Thu Apr 26 @ 2:00PM - 03:00PM
2018 Gardening Webinars by Kerry Ann Mendez