Wednesday, 21 March 2018      Home | Membership

Vinaora Nivo SliderVinaora Nivo SliderVinaora Nivo SliderVinaora Nivo SliderVinaora Nivo SliderVinaora Nivo SliderVinaora Nivo SliderVinaora Nivo SliderVinaora Nivo SliderVinaora Nivo Slider
Pruning Woody Plants
Thursday 15 September 2016, 07:00pm - 08:30pm


Where: The Gardens at Elm Bank

Learn about the science behind when, how and why to prune your woody plants. Learn to make the best use of your money by making good choices about which plants can be pruned by a home gardener, and which require the services of a professional.

Gretel Anspach is a Trustee of the Massachusetts Horticultural Society, a Lifetime Master Gardener, education coordinator for the Massachusetts Master Gardener Association and a recently-retired systems engineer for Raytheon. Gretel helped to establish and maintain two food production gardens that have provided fresh produce to the Marlboro Food Pantry for the last five years. 

Member Cost: $12
Non-Member Cost $20

trial garden

About the Massachusetts Horticultural Society

Mass Hort logo newFounded in 1829, the Massachusetts Horticultural Society is dedicated to encouraging the science and practice of horticulture and developing the public's enjoyment, appreciation, and understanding of plants and the environment.

2018 Calendar & Courses

2018 Masshort Courses

Mass Hort Shop

Milkweed small
Botanical Prints
Now on Sale
The Perfect Gift
Visit the Store

Mass Hort Classes & Events

Thu Mar 22 @ 7:00PM - 08:30PM
Rev Up for Spring: Seed Sowing, Growing and More!
Thu Mar 29 @ 7:00PM - 08:30PM
Vegetable Gardening: Planning, Preparing and Maintaining Your Victory Garden
Tue Apr 03 @ 9:00AM - 12:00PM
Improve Your Watercolor Skills - Morning Course
Tue Apr 03 @12:30PM - 03:30PM
Improve Your Watercolor Skills - Afternoon Course
Thu Apr 05 @ 7:00PM - 08:30PM
Landscaping and Planting Design
Thu Apr 05 @ 7:00PM - 08:30PM
Tips for a Great Jump Start on Your Lawn
Sat Apr 21 @10:00AM - 02:00PM
Grafting Fruit Trees
Thu May 03 @ 7:00PM - 08:30PM
Sun May 06 @10:30AM - 12:00PM
Early Season Gardening Workshop
Thu May 17 @ 7:00PM - 08:30PM
Greenhouse Growing
Tue May 22 @ 1:00PM - 05:00PM
Landscaping for Watershed Health
Wed May 30 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Spring Landscape Tour
Wed Jun 06 @ 7:00PM - 09:00PM
Hands-On Floral Design
Thu Jun 07 @ 7:00PM - 08:30PM
Bio-control of Lily Leaf Beetles
Tue Jun 12 @ 1:00PM - 04:30PM
Eco Printing: Fiber art workshop
Tue Jun 26 @10:30AM - 12:00PM
Explore the Teaching Herb Garden
Wed Jul 11 @10:00AM - 02:00PM
The Art of Planting Design
Wed Jul 18 @ 7:00PM - 08:30PM
Summer Stroll: Garden tour
Sun Jul 22 @10:30AM - 12:00PM
What's Buggin' Me?
Sat Aug 04 @10:30AM - 12:00PM
Fall Planting Workshop
Thu Aug 09 @ 7:00PM - 08:30PM
A Summer Stroll: Garden Tour
Sun Aug 12 @10:00AM - 04:00PM
Meditations in Ink with Bruce Iverson