Saturday, 01 October 2016      Home | Membership

Vinaora Nivo SliderVinaora Nivo SliderVinaora Nivo SliderVinaora Nivo SliderVinaora Nivo SliderVinaora Nivo SliderVinaora Nivo SliderVinaora Nivo SliderVinaora Nivo SliderVinaora Nivo Slider

Seed to Table Garden

The Seed to Table program:

  • Provides fresh, organic produce to families in need
  • Offers hands-on classes for people looking to grow and cook their own food
  • Promotes sustainable gardening methods

 

garden_to_table_garden.jpg

Seed to Table in Dover. This 6,000-foot garden in Dover was designed by a team of Master Gardeners to offer both educational instruction and a source of inspiration for home gardeners and cooks. It illustrates the quantity and variety of foods that can be grown even in the smallest yard. Half of the beds showcase the possibilities for first time gardeners, with a wide variety of ethnic cuisines from around the world. The other half of the garden consists of production beds where organic vegetables are grown for distribution to local food pantries. 

garden_to_table_garden_tufts.jpg

Seed to Table in Boston. The Jean Mayer USDA Human Nutrition Research Center on Aging at Tufts University (USDA HNRCA) is partnering with Mass Hort to raise vegetables in an indoor garden on the university's Chinatown campus. The gardens feature three elevated beds that will produce a steady harvest for the St. Francis House. In addition, this highly visible garden is helping to raise awareness about the role of nutrient-rich foods in promoting good health.

Learn more about the Seed to Table Program here.

About the Massachusetts Horticultural Society

Mass Hort logo newFounded in 1829, the Massachusetts Horticultural Society is dedicated to encouraging the science and practice of horticulture and developing the public's enjoyment, appreciation, and understanding of plants and the environment.

2016-2017 Calendar & Courses

catalog

Mass Hort Shop

001
Botanical Prints
Now on Sale
The Perfect Gift
Visit the Store

Mass Hort Classes & Events

Sun Oct 02 @10:00AM - 10:30AM
Sunday with Seed to Table
Mon Oct 03 @ 6:30PM - 08:30PM
Botany for the Home Gardener
Wed Oct 05 @ 7:00PM - 09:00PM
Floral Design for Beginners
Thu Oct 06 @ 7:00PM - 08:30PM
Young Tree Care: Proper Planting and Pruning
Tue Oct 11 @ 1:30PM - 03:00PM
Book Signing & Sampling: Kathy Gunst's Soup Swap
Wed Oct 12 @ 9:00AM - 04:00PM
Introduction to Mushroom Culture
Thu Oct 20 @ 6:30PM - 09:00PM
117th Honorary Medals Dinner
Tue Oct 25 @ 1:00PM - 03:30PM
Overwintering Your Bees
Thu Nov 03 @ 7:00PM - 08:30PM
Herbal Cocktails
Wed Nov 09 @ 7:00PM - 08:30PM
Looking Ahead to Winter with David Epstein
Thu Nov 10 @ 1:30PM - 03:00PM
Herbs for the Holidays: the Science of Stuffing and Beyond
Tue Nov 15 @ 1:30PM - 03:00PM
Apples of New England
Thu Nov 17 @ 1:00PM - 03:00PM
The Festive Table
Tue Nov 29 @ 7:00PM - 08:00PM
Giving Tuesday: Bulb Planting
Tue Dec 06 @ 4:00PM - 05:30PM
Landscape Lighting