Saturday, 22 October 2016      Home | Membership

Vinaora Nivo SliderVinaora Nivo SliderVinaora Nivo SliderVinaora Nivo SliderVinaora Nivo SliderVinaora Nivo SliderVinaora Nivo SliderVinaora Nivo SliderVinaora Nivo SliderVinaora Nivo Slider

Seed to Table Garden

The Seed to Table program:

  • Provides fresh, organic produce to families in need
  • Offers hands-on classes for people looking to grow and cook their own food
  • Promotes sustainable gardening methods



Seed to Table in Dover. This 6,000-foot garden in Dover was designed by a team of Master Gardeners to offer both educational instruction and a source of inspiration for home gardeners and cooks. It illustrates the quantity and variety of foods that can be grown even in the smallest yard. Half of the beds showcase the possibilities for first time gardeners, with a wide variety of ethnic cuisines from around the world. The other half of the garden consists of production beds where organic vegetables are grown for distribution to local food pantries. 


Seed to Table in Boston. The Jean Mayer USDA Human Nutrition Research Center on Aging at Tufts University (USDA HNRCA) is partnering with Mass Hort to raise vegetables in an indoor garden on the university's Chinatown campus. The gardens feature three elevated beds that will produce a steady harvest for the St. Francis House. In addition, this highly visible garden is helping to raise awareness about the role of nutrient-rich foods in promoting good health.

Learn more about the Seed to Table Program here.

About the Massachusetts Horticultural Society

Mass Hort logo newFounded in 1829, the Massachusetts Horticultural Society is dedicated to encouraging the science and practice of horticulture and developing the public's enjoyment, appreciation, and understanding of plants and the environment.

2016-2017 Calendar & Courses


Mass Hort Shop

Botanical Prints
Now on Sale
The Perfect Gift
Visit the Store

Mass Hort Classes & Events

Tue Oct 25 @ 1:30PM - 03:00PM
Overwintering Your Bees
Wed Oct 26 @ 7:00PM - 09:00PM
Floral Design for Beginners
Thu Nov 03 @ 7:00PM - 08:30PM
Herbal Cocktails
Wed Nov 09 @ 7:00PM - 08:30PM
Looking Ahead to Winter with David Epstein
Thu Nov 10 @ 1:30PM - 03:00PM
Herbs for the Holidays: the Science of Stuffing and Beyond
Sat Nov 12 @ 9:00AM - 04:00PM
Introduction to Mushroom Culture
Tue Nov 15 @ 1:30PM - 03:00PM
Apples of New England
Thu Nov 17 @ 1:00PM - 03:00PM
The Festive Table
Fri Nov 25 @10:00AM - 08:00PM
Festival of Trees and Snow Village
Tue Nov 29 @ 7:00PM - 08:00PM
Giving Tuesday: Bulb Planting
Tue Dec 06 @ 4:00PM - 05:30PM
Landscape Lighting
Wed Dec 21 @ 1:00PM - 03:00PM
Winter Solstice Walk
Thu Feb 23 @ 9:00AM - 04:00PM
School Garden Conference: Beyond Education