Sunday, 22 April 2018      Home | Membership

Vinaora Nivo SliderVinaora Nivo SliderVinaora Nivo SliderVinaora Nivo SliderVinaora Nivo SliderVinaora Nivo SliderVinaora Nivo SliderVinaora Nivo SliderVinaora Nivo SliderVinaora Nivo Slider

Seed to Table Garden

The Seed to Table program:

  • Provides fresh, organic produce to families in need
  • Offers hands-on classes for people looking to grow and cook their own food
  • Promotes sustainable gardening methods

 

garden_to_table_garden.jpg

Seed to Table in Dover. This 6,000-foot garden in Dover was designed by a team of Master Gardeners to offer both educational instruction and a source of inspiration for home gardeners and cooks. It illustrates the quantity and variety of foods that can be grown even in the smallest yard. Half of the beds showcase the possibilities for first time gardeners, with a wide variety of ethnic cuisines from around the world. The other half of the garden consists of production beds where organic vegetables are grown for distribution to local food pantries. 

garden_to_table_garden_tufts.jpg

Seed to Table in Boston. The Jean Mayer USDA Human Nutrition Research Center on Aging at Tufts University (USDA HNRCA) is partnering with Mass Hort to raise vegetables in an indoor garden on the university's Chinatown campus. The gardens feature three elevated beds that will produce a steady harvest for the St. Francis House. In addition, this highly visible garden is helping to raise awareness about the role of nutrient-rich foods in promoting good health.

Learn more about the Seed to Table Program here.

About the Massachusetts Horticultural Society

Mass Hort logo newFounded in 1829, the Massachusetts Horticultural Society is dedicated to encouraging the science and practice of horticulture and developing the public's enjoyment, appreciation, and understanding of plants and the environment.

2018 Calendar & Courses

2018 Masshort Courses

Mass Hort Shop

Milkweed small
Botanical Prints
Now on Sale
The Perfect Gift
Visit the Store

Mass Hort Classes & Events

Tue Apr 24 @ 9:00AM - 12:00PM
Improve Your Watercolor Skills - Morning Course
Tue Apr 24 @12:30PM - 03:30PM
Improve Your Watercolor Skills - Afternoon Course
Thu Apr 26 @ 7:00PM - 08:30PM
Landscaping and Planting Design
Thu May 03 @ 7:00PM - 08:30PM
Foodscaping
Sun May 06 @10:30AM - 12:00PM
Early Season Gardening Workshop
Thu May 17 @ 7:00PM - 08:30PM
Greenhouse Growing
Tue May 22 @ 1:00PM - 05:00PM
Landscaping for Watershed Health
Wed May 30 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Spring Landscape Tour
Wed Jun 06 @ 7:00PM - 09:00PM
Hands-On Floral Design
Thu Jun 07 @ 7:00PM - 08:30PM
Bio-control of Lily Leaf Beetles
Tue Jun 12 @ 1:00PM - 04:30PM
Eco Printing: Fiber art workshop
Tue Jun 26 @10:30AM - 12:00PM
Explore the Teaching Herb Garden
Wed Jul 11 @10:00AM - 02:00PM
The Art of Planting Design
Wed Jul 18 @ 7:00PM - 08:30PM
Summer Stroll: Garden tour
Sun Jul 22 @10:30AM - 12:00PM
What's Buggin' Me?
Sat Aug 04 @10:30AM - 12:00PM
Fall Planting Workshop
Thu Aug 09 @ 7:00PM - 08:30PM
A Summer Stroll: Garden Tour
Sun Aug 12 @10:00AM - 04:00PM
Meditations in Ink with Bruce Iverson