Saturday, 21 October 2017      Home | Membership

Vinaora Nivo SliderVinaora Nivo SliderVinaora Nivo SliderVinaora Nivo SliderVinaora Nivo SliderVinaora Nivo SliderVinaora Nivo SliderVinaora Nivo SliderVinaora Nivo SliderVinaora Nivo Slider
Early Season Gardening Workshop
Sunday 07 May 2017, 10:30am - 12:00pm

When: Sunday May 7, 2017 from 10:30 AM to 12:00 PM

Where: The Gardens at Elm Bank - Seed to Table Garden

Get an early start on implementing a successful growing season! Hannah Traggis will lead this hands-on workshop, covering essential vegetable gardening skills such as handling and transplanting young seedlings and proper weed management. Consideration will be given to spring garden and soil preparations, early spring and summer cover cropping and mulching options, and planning ahead for succession planting and extended vegetable harvest.

Hannah Traggis manages Mass Hort's edible gardens throughout The Gardens at Elm Bank. She oversees the Seed to Table vegetable garden which produces more than 4,000 pounds of produce each year to support our educational mission and local food pantries.

Members: $20
General Admission: $30

sign up button

About the Massachusetts Horticultural Society

Mass Hort logo newFounded in 1829, the Massachusetts Horticultural Society is dedicated to encouraging the science and practice of horticulture and developing the public's enjoyment, appreciation, and understanding of plants and the environment.

2017-2018 Calendar & Courses

2017-2018 Calendar and Courses

Mass Hort Shop

Milkweed small
Botanical Prints
Now on Sale
The Perfect Gift
Visit the Store

Mass Hort Classes & Events

Tue Oct 24 @ 1:30AM - 03:00PM
Singing in the Rain
Wed Nov 01 @ 7:00PM - 09:00PM
Integrated Pest Management Course
Thu Nov 02 @ 7:00PM - 08:30PM
House Plant Success
Wed Nov 08 @ 1:00PM - 05:00PM
Ecological Gardening Symposium
Thu Nov 16 @ 1:00AM - 03:30PM
Make Your Own Holiday Centerpiece
Fri Nov 24 @10:00AM - 08:00PM
Festival of Trees and Snow Village
Wed Nov 29 @ 4:00PM - 08:00PM
Festival of Trees and Snow Village
Fri Dec 01 @10:00AM - 08:00PM
Festival of Trees and Snow Village
Sat Dec 02 @ 1:00PM - 03:00PM
Make Your Own Herbal Gifts
Sat Dec 02 @ 4:00PM - 06:00PM
Holiday Hort Gifts
Wed Dec 06 @ 4:00PM - 08:00PM
Festival of Trees and Snow Village
Fri Dec 08 @10:00AM - 08:00PM
Festival of Trees and Snow Village
Sun Dec 10 @10:00AM - 06:00PM
Festival of Trees and Snow Village
Mon Dec 11 @10:00AM - 06:00PM
Festival of Trees and Snow Village
Tue Jan 09 @ 1:30PM - 03:00PM
Tour: Harvard's Glass Flower Collection
Tue Jan 16 @ 7:00PM - 08:30PM
Botany for the Home Gardener
Wed Jan 17 @10:00AM - 02:00PM
Designing the Winter Landscape
Thu Jan 18 @ 7:00PM - 08:30PM
Grow Your Own Succulent Container
Sat Jan 20 @10:00AM - 02:00PM
Greenhouse Growing and Maintenance
Wed Jan 24 @10:00AM - 04:00PM
Digital Photography: Capturing Botanic Images
Thu Jan 25 @ 7:00PM - 09:00PM
Landscaping and Planting Design