Tuesday, 24 April 2018      Home | Membership

Vinaora Nivo SliderVinaora Nivo SliderVinaora Nivo SliderVinaora Nivo SliderVinaora Nivo SliderVinaora Nivo SliderVinaora Nivo SliderVinaora Nivo SliderVinaora Nivo SliderVinaora Nivo Slider
Essential Seed Saving for the Educator and Home Gardener
Sunday 14 August 2016, 10:00am - 11:30am

Where: Vegetable Garden
900 Washington Street
Wellesley, MA 02482

Seeds are fascinating organisms that hold within their coat, the ability to transform into a multitude of flowers, grains, trees and vegetables and saving them for future use is a wonderful skill to learn. Sharing seeds of your favorite vegetables and flowers with friends and family is incredibly rewarding! In this workshop, Seed to Table Educator, Hannah Traggis, will cover the essential biology and technical skills to approach saving your own seeds. We will cover crop selection, growing conditions and techniques for extracting, cleaning and storing high quality seeds.

We will also cover topics ranging from starting a simple seed lending library for your school or community and educational uses of seeds. For educators, we will provide fun curriculum you can use to engage students to explore and appreciate the world of seeds.

Saving seeds is fun and easy and it is the perfect time of year to begin saving your own

 

Materials provided.

Member Cost: $30
Non-Member Cost $45

trial garden

 

About the Massachusetts Horticultural Society

Mass Hort logo newFounded in 1829, the Massachusetts Horticultural Society is dedicated to encouraging the science and practice of horticulture and developing the public's enjoyment, appreciation, and understanding of plants and the environment.

2018 Calendar & Courses

2018 Masshort Courses

Mass Hort Shop

Milkweed small
Botanical Prints
Now on Sale
The Perfect Gift
Visit the Store

Mass Hort Classes & Events

Thu Apr 26 @ 7:00PM - 08:30PM
Landscaping and Planting Design
Tue May 01 @ 9:00AM - 12:00PM
Improve Your Watercolor Skills - Morning Course
Tue May 01 @12:30PM - 03:30PM
Improve Your Watercolor Skills - Afternoon Course
Thu May 03 @ 7:00PM - 08:30PM
Foodscaping
Sun May 06 @10:30AM - 12:00PM
Early Season Gardening Workshop
Thu May 17 @ 7:00PM - 08:30PM
Greenhouse Growing
Tue May 22 @ 1:00PM - 05:00PM
Landscaping for Watershed Health
Wed May 30 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Spring Landscape Tour
Wed Jun 06 @ 7:00PM - 09:00PM
Hands-On Floral Design
Thu Jun 07 @ 7:00PM - 08:30PM
Bio-control of Lily Leaf Beetles
Tue Jun 12 @ 1:00PM - 04:30PM
Eco Printing: Fiber art workshop
Tue Jun 26 @10:30AM - 12:00PM
Explore the Teaching Herb Garden
Wed Jul 11 @10:00AM - 02:00PM
The Art of Planting Design
Wed Jul 18 @ 7:00PM - 08:30PM
Summer Stroll: Garden tour
Sun Jul 22 @10:30AM - 12:00PM
What's Buggin' Me?
Sat Aug 04 @10:30AM - 12:00PM
Fall Planting Workshop
Thu Aug 09 @ 7:00PM - 08:30PM
A Summer Stroll: Garden Tour
Sun Aug 12 @10:00AM - 04:00PM
Meditations in Ink with Bruce Iverson