Saturday, 26 May 2018      Home | Membership

Vinaora Nivo SliderVinaora Nivo SliderVinaora Nivo SliderVinaora Nivo SliderVinaora Nivo SliderVinaora Nivo SliderVinaora Nivo SliderVinaora Nivo SliderVinaora Nivo SliderVinaora Nivo Slider
Composting Basics
Sunday 24 July 2016, 10:00am - 11:30am

Where: Putnam Building at The Gardens at Elm Bank
900 Washington Street
Wellesley, MA 02482

Join Hannah Traggis, Mass Hort's Seed to Table Educator, as we explore the many types of onsite composting we have here in The Gardens at Elm Bank! Learn how to easily integrate some form of composting in your home, school or community garden.

 

For those with school gardens and kids in your lives, you can also learn to use these systems to educate youth about environmental stewardship, resource conservation, ecology, and soil restoration. Hands-on curriculum will be provided for investigating compost piles, earthworms, and other soil microbes, decomposition processes, and how healthy, carbon-rich soil is related to the gobal carbon cycle.

Materials provided.

Member Cost: $30
Non-Member Cost $45

 

trial garden

 

About the Massachusetts Horticultural Society

Mass Hort logo newFounded in 1829, the Massachusetts Horticultural Society is dedicated to encouraging the science and practice of horticulture and developing the public's enjoyment, appreciation, and understanding of plants and the environment.

2018 Calendar & Courses

2018 Masshort Courses

Mass Hort Shop

Milkweed small
Botanical Prints
Now on Sale
The Perfect Gift
Visit the Store

Mass Hort Classes & Events

Wed May 30 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Spring Landscape Tour
Wed Jun 06 @ 7:00PM - 09:00PM
Hands-On Floral Design
Thu Jun 07 @ 7:00PM - 08:30PM
Bio-control of Lily Leaf Beetles
Tue Jun 12 @ 1:00PM - 04:30PM
Eco Printing: Fiber art workshop
Tue Jun 26 @10:30AM - 12:00PM
Explore the Teaching Herb Garden
Wed Jul 11 @10:00AM - 02:00PM
The Art of Planting Design
Wed Jul 18 @ 7:00PM - 08:30PM
Summer Stroll: Garden tour
Sun Jul 22 @10:30AM - 12:00PM
What's Buggin' Me?
Sat Aug 04 @10:30AM - 12:00PM
Fall Planting Workshop
Thu Aug 09 @ 7:00PM - 08:30PM
A Summer Stroll: Garden Tour
Sun Aug 12 @10:00AM - 04:00PM
Meditations in Ink with Bruce Iverson