Saturday, 23 May 2015      Home | Membership

Vinaora Nivo SliderVinaora Nivo SliderVinaora Nivo SliderVinaora Nivo SliderVinaora Nivo SliderVinaora Nivo SliderVinaora Nivo SliderVinaora Nivo SliderVinaora Nivo SliderVinaora Nivo Slider

Current Volunteer Opportunities

Volunteer Committee Member

Work with the Volunteer Coordinator to administer the Volunteers program, including record-keeping, recruiting, supervising, and planning. Must enjoy working with volunteers.

Visitors Center Volunteer

The Gardens at Elm Bank’s visitors season is May 1-October 12. The gardens are open: Tuesday-Sunday, 10am – 4pm. We are looking for interested volunteers to work 3 hour shifts, greeting guest, collecting admissions, and selling membership. This is a beautiful place to work and enjoy the gardens. Read more

Office Assistant

Help with administrative tasks as required in the areas of membership and marketing. Duties may include making or taking phone calls, processing mailings, entering data, filing, and working on special projects. Volunteers with computer skills, marketing experience, and/or a pleasant phone manner are especially valuable.

About the Massachusetts Horticultural Society

Massachusetts Horticultural Society LogoFounded in 1829, the Massachusetts Horticultural Society is dedicated to encouraging the science and practice of horticulture and developing the public's enjoyment, appreciation, and understanding of plants and the environment.

2015 Calendar & Courses

Mass Hort Calendar Courses 2015

Latest Mass Hort Events

Thu May 28 @ 7:00PM - 08:30PM
Urban Gardening
Sat May 30 @ 9:00AM - 01:00PM
Reading the Forested Landscape with Tom Wessels
Sat May 30 @10:00AM - 04:00PM
Botanical Art for Beginners
Tue Jun 02 @ 6:00PM - 08:30PM
Garden to Table's Spring Dinner in the Crockett Garden
Thu Jun 04 @ 7:00PM - 08:30PM
Ecology of the Garden
Sat Jun 06 @10:00AM - 12:00PM
Farming Exhibits of the Smithsonian
Sun Jun 07 @ 5:30PM - 08:30PM
Members' Evening in the Garden
Thu Jun 18 @ 7:00PM - 08:30PM
Spring Foraging Walk and Talk With Russ Cohen
Thu Jun 25 @ 7:00PM - 08:30PM
Historic Landscape Stewardship
Sat Jun 27 @10:00AM - 02:00PM
Herb Gardening
Tue Jun 30 @ 1:00PM - 02:30PM
Children's Afternoon in the Garden
Thu Jul 09 @ 7:00PM - 08:30PM
Insects in the Garden: The Good, the Bad, and the Ugly
Sat Jul 11 @10:00AM - 12:00PM
Plan to Harvest: Vegetable Gardening
Wed Jul 15 @10:00AM - 02:00PM
Color Gardens: Learn to Create Three Season Flower Gardens with Winter Appeal
Tue Jul 28 @ 1:00PM - 02:30PM
Children's Afternoon in the Garden
Thu Jul 30 @ 7:00PM - 08:30PM
Seed Saving Basics
Tue Aug 25 @ 1:00PM - 02:30PM
Children's Afternoon in the Garden
Thu Aug 27 @ 7:00PM - 08:30PM
Tour the Trial Garden
Sat Aug 29 @10:00AM - 12:00PM
Bressingham Basics
Tue Sep 08 @ 6:30PM - 08:30PM
Fundamentals of Landscape Design
Sat Sep 12 @10:00AM - 12:00PM
Introduction to Italianate Gardens
Sat Sep 12 @10:00AM - 12:00PM
Fundamentals of Landscape Design